Buhari Approves Babalakin, Nworgu, Mohammed, Momoh, Others To Chair University Boards


By Nuel Suji – President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reconstitution of Governing Councils of 23 out of the 40 federal universities in the country.

Among the named approved are those of All Progressive Congress (APC) chieftains, Tony Momoh, Sen. Nkechi Nworgu, JK Waku, Wale Babalakin and AVM Muktar Mohammed.

A statement by Minister of Education, Adamu Adamu said the decision was taken “pursuant to his powers under the laws establishing the federal universities in Nigeria.”

“His Excellency, President Muhammadu Buhari has approved the reconstitution of Governing Councils of 23 out of the 40 federal universities in the country for a period of four years, in the first instance,” the minister stated.

The institutions affected are those whose Governing Councils’ tenures have elapsed or would on 9th April, 2017.

“In making these appointments, Mr. President had taken cognizance of the requirements for membership into Governing Councils, which include among others, a minimum of a university degree, high integrity, and commitment to educational development of the country.  In addition, consideration was also given to geo-political spread, in order to reflect federal character and foster sense of belonging.

The affected universities and their Chairmen are as follows:

  1. Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria – AVM Muktar Mohammed
  2. University of Nigeria, Nsukka – Chief Mike Olorunfemi
  3. University of Lagos – Dr. Wale Babalakin
  4. Federal University of Technology, Owerri (FUTO) – Prof John Ofem
  5. University of Calabar – Sen. Nkechi Justina Nworgu
  6. University of Ibadan – Joshua Waklek, mni
  7. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa Uni (ATBU), Bauchi – Amb. Niniola Nimota Akanbi
  8. Bayero University, Kano (BUK) – Prof. Ibrahim Gambari
  9. Federal University of Technology, Akure (FUTA) – Sen. J.K.N. Waku
  10. Fed. Uni of Petroleum Res., Effurum (FUPRE) – Prof Shehu Abdullahi Zuru
  11. Federal University of Technology (FUT), Minna – Prof Femi Odekunle
  12. Michael Okpara University of Agric, Umudike (MOUAU) – Engr. Bello Suleiman
  13. Modibbo Adama University of Tech, Yola – M. Bukar Zarma
  14. Modibbo Adama University of Tech, Yola – M. Bukar Zarma
  15. Nmandi Azikiwe University, Awka – Alhaji Aziz Bello
  16. University of Abuja – Alhaji Sani Maikudi
  17. Fed University of Agric, Abeokuta – Dr. Aboki Zhawa
  18. Fed University of Agriculture, Makurdi – Prof Alkassum Abba
  19. University of Benin – Alhaji Isah Ashiru
  20. University of Ilorin – Dr. Jibril Oyekan
  21. University of Jos – Prince Tony Momoh
  22. University of Maiduguri – Prof. Biodun Adesanya
  23. University of Uyo – Prof. A. C. Awujo

Usman Danfodiyo University, Sokoto – Rtd Hon. Justice Pearl Enajere

Those not affected by the reconstitution are the Governing Councils of the 12 new Federal Universities in Lokoja, Otueke, Gashua, Dutsin-Ma, Oye-Ekiti, Lafia, Gusau, Wukari, Kashere, Birnin-Kebbi, Dutse and Ndifu-Alike-Ikwo which were inaugurated in March, 2016 as well as those of the Obafemi Awolowo University (OAU) Ile-Ife and University of Port Harcourt, which were re-constituted in January this year (2017),  The tenure of the council of the National Open University of Nigeria (NOUN) will elapse in January 2018.

The new Governing Councils are to be inaugurated at the auditorium of the National Universities Commission (NUC) on a date to be announced soon.

Similarly, President Buhari has approved the reconstitution of the boards of 19 parastatal agencies under the Federal Ministry of Education. Members of the board will run for a period of four years in the first instance.

In making the appointments, the President took into cognizance of the provisions of the respective legislation with respect to composition, competence, credibility, integrity, federal character and geo-political spread.

The Boards, consisting of the Chairmen and Members, will be inaugurated on a date to be announced soon.

The agencies and their Chairmen are as follows:

(1) National Universities commission (NUC) – Prof. Ayo Banjo

(2) Tertiary Education Trust Fund (TETFund) – Chief Emeka Nwajiuba

(3) National Institute for Educational Planning and Administration – Dr. Ekaete Obon Okon

(4) Universal Basic Education Commission (UBEC) – Dr. Mahmud Mohammed

(5) National Library of Nigeria (NLN) – Prof. Zainab Alkali

(6) National Examination Council (NECO) – Dr. Abubakar Saddiq

(7) National Commission for Mass Literacy, Adult and Non-Formal Education (NMEC)- Dr. Gidado Bello Akko

(8) National Commission for Nomadic Education (NCNE) – Prof. Gidado Tahir

(9) National Business and Technical Education Board (NABTEB) – Prof. Leonard Karshima Shilgba

(10) Teachers’ Registration Council of Nigeria (TRCN) – Prof. Adamu Baikie

(11) National Commission for Colleges of Education (NCCE)- Alh. Maigari Dingyadi

(12) National Teachers’ Institute (NTI) – Sen. Mallam Kaka Yale

(13) National Mathematical Centre (NMC) – Prof. Buba Bajoga

(14) Joint Admissions and Matriculation Board (JAMB) – Dr. Emmanuel Ndukwe

(15) National Institute of Nigerian Languages (NINLAN) – Chief N. N Nnabuchi

(16) Nigerian Educational Research and Development Council (NERDC) – Chief Paul Unongo

(17) Nigerian French Language Village (NFLV) – Prof. Saliba Mukoro

(18) National Board for Technical Education (NBTE) – Prof. Modupe Adelabu

(19) Nigerian Arabic Language Village (NALV) – Prof. O Oladusi


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here