Tinubu Sacks Runsewe, Maduekwe, Appoints Asika, Nuhu, Others As Heads Of Arts, Culture Agencies

Ruling party candidate Bola Tinubu, addresses supporters in Abuja on March 1, 2023 during celebrations at his campaign headquarters. - Ruling party candidate Bola Tinubu won Nigeria's highly disputed weekend election, electoral authorities said on Wednesday, securing the former Lagos governor the presidency of Africa's most populous democracy. With President Muhammadu Buhari stepping down after two terms, many Nigerians hoped Saturday's vote would usher in a leader capable of tackling the country's widening insecurity, economic malaise and growing poverty. (Photo by Kola SULAIMON / AFP) (Photo by KOLA SULAIMON/AFP via Getty Images)

News Investigators/ President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of eleven Chief Executive Officers,CEOs for agencies in the Federal Ministry of Art, Culture, and Creative Economy.

Director General National Council for Arts and Culture, Olusegun Runsewe and Managing Director, Nigeria Film Corporation (NFC), Chidia Maduekwe are among the Chief Executives that have lost their positions by the latest appointment.

Presidential spokesman, Ajuri Ngelale, in a statement on Friday announced the appointment in Abuja.

According to Mr. Ngelale, the President appointed Obi Asika as the Director General of National Council of Arts and Culture, replacing Mr. Runsewe.

While a popular Kannywood actor, Ali Nuhu, has been appointed as Managing-Director, Nigerian Film Corporation replacing Mr. Maduekwe.

“President Bola Tinubu has approved the appointment of eleven (11) new Chief Executive Officers for agencies under the Federal Ministry of Art, Culture, and Creative Economy.”

The list of appointees include:

(1) Tola Akerele — Director-General, National Theatre

(2) Dr. Shaibu Husseini — Director-General, National Films and Censors Board

(3) Mr. Obi Asika — Director-General, National Council for Arts and Culture

(4) Aisha Adamu Augie — Director-General, Centre for Black and African Arts and Culture

(5) Ekpolador-Ebi Koinyan — Chief Conservator, National War Museum

(6) Ahmed Sodangi — Director-General, National Gallery of Arts

(7) Chaliya Shagaya — Director-General, National Institute of Archeology and Museums Studies

(8) Hajiya Khaltume Bulama Gana — Artistic Director, National Troupe of Nigeria

(9) Otunba Biodun Ajiboye — Director-General, National Institute for Cultural Orientation

(10) Ali Nuhu — Managing-Director, Nigerian Film Corporation

(11) Ramatu Abonbo Mohammed — Director-General, National Commission for Museums and Monuments”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here