Secondus Elected As New PDP National Chairman

PDP National Chairman

By Nuel Suji – A former National Vice Chairman of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party PDP, Uche Secondus, has been declared as the winner of the National Chairmanship election of the party.

Former Governor of Benue State and Chairman of the Convention electoral committee Mr. Gabriel Suswam who announced the results Sunday morning, said Mr. Secondus scored a total of 2,000 votes out of the 2,296 total number of votes cast.

Newly elected PDP National Chairman

The new National Chairman was trailed by a former Minister of Education, Tunde Adeniran, who scored a total vote of 231 votes, while Raymond Dokpesi polled 60 votes and Taoheed Adedoja had nil vote.

The Convention which was characterized by many intrigues and drama started Friday and held at the Eagle Square, Abuja.

Mr. Secondus hails from Rivers State, South South Nigeria. He was openly supported by his kinsman and his State Governor, Nyesome Wike and his South West ally, the Ekiti State Governor, Ayodele Fayose.

About 11 governors reportedly backed the election of the new national chairman.

The outcome of the election sparked protests from the supporters of other candidate who alleged misconducts.

Earlier, Prof Adeniran had walked out of the convention venue alleging vote fraud and manipulation.

They were sworn in by a lawyer and a former candidate for the Ondo state governorship, Tayo Jegede.

Below is the full list of new members of PDP NWC.

Deputy National Chairman (South); Yemi Akinwonmi- Ogun

Deputy National Chairman (North); Garba Gamawa- Bauchi

National Secretary; Ibrahim Tsauri- Katsina

Deputy National Secretary; Abubakar Mustapha

National Treasurer; Aribisala Adewale- Ekiti

Deputy National Treasurer; Wada Masu-Kano

Financial Secretary; Abdullahi Maibasira- Niger

Deputy Fin. Sec.; Irona Gerald-Imo

National Organizing Secretary; Austin Akobundu- Abia

Dep. Nat. Org. Sec.; Hassan Yakubu- Nasarawa

Publicity Secretary; Kola Ologbondiyan- Kogi

Dep. Nat. Pub. Sec.; Diran Odeyemi- Osun

National Legal Adviser; Emmanuel Enoidem- Akwa Ibom

Dep. Nat. Legal Adviser.; Ahmed Liman- Sokoto

National Auditor; Adamu Mustapha-Yobe

Dep. Nat. Auditor; Divine Arong

National Woman Leader; Mariya Waziri-Kebbi

Dep. Nat. Woman Leader; Hadizat Umoru- Edo

National Youth Leader; Udeh Okoye-Enugu

Dep. Nat. Youth Leader; Umar Maina- Adamu


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here