Published On: Wed, Jul 29th, 2015

Saraki Names Melaye, Omoworare, Committee Chairmen

Share This
Senate Spokesman

Senate Spokesman

By Nuel Suji
The President of the Senate Sen. Bukola Saraki, Wednesday constituted three out of the 57 standing committees and one ad hoc committee, adhering strictly to the rule on geopolitical spread.
The committees are,  Senate Services  headed by Sen. Ibrahim Gobir (APC Sokoto East); Rules and Business, Sen. Babajide Omoworare (APC Osun Central ) with Sen. Samuel Anyanwu (PDP  Imo East ) as Chairman Ethics and Privileges Committee.

Saraki  also named Senator Dino Melaye (APC Kogi  West ) as Chairman, Ad-hoc Committee on Information and Public Affairs and Senators Eyinnaya Abaribe and Ben Bruce as members.

Machinery for the composition of the entire 57 senate standing committees was earlier  set in motion on Tuesday by the Senate President when he told senators to pick forms from the Clerk to the Senate and indicate five committees in which they wished to serve as soon as possible.

About the Author

- NewsInvestigators provides all the top stories as they break, with updates and deeper insight into the reports. It focuses on local, regional and global news events in business, politics and entertainment in the true tradition of investigative journalism.