Published On: Wed, Sep 27th, 2017

Retired Justice Ayo Salami Heads Judiciary’s Anti-Graft Committee

Share This

By Nuel Suji – The National Judicial Council (NJC) has appointed a former President of the Court of Appeal, Ayo Salami, to head a committee to monitor corruption cases in Nigerian court.

NJC, in a statement by its spokesperson, Soji Oye, Wednesday in Abuja said retired Justice Salami will head a 15-member committee for the task.

“The Committee’s primary functions include; Regular monitoring and evaluation of proceedings at designated courts for financial and economic crimes nationwide; Advising the Chief Justice of Nigeria on how to eliminate delay in the trial of alleged corruption cases.

Other responsibilities of the Committee are: “Giving feedback to the Council on progress of cases in the designated courts, conduct background checks on judges selected for the designated courts; and Evaluating the performance of the designated courts,” the statement added.

It listed other members of the committee as: Hon. Justice Kashim Zannah (OFR), Chief Judge, Borno State; Hon. Justice P.O. Nnadi, Chief Judge, Imo State; Hon. Justice Marsahal Umukoro, Chief Judge Delta State; Hon. Justice M. L. Abimbola, Chief Judge, Oyo State; Mr. A.B Mahmoud OON, SAN, President, Nigerian Bar Association and Chief Wole Olanipekun OFR SAN. Former NBA President.

Others are Mr. Olisa Agbakoba OON SAN, Mr. J.B Daudu SAN, Mr. Augustine Alegeh SAN, Dr. Garba Tetengi SAN, member, NJC, Mrs. R.I Inga, Representative, Non-Governmental Organisations, Representative, Ministry of Justice, Representative, Institute of Chartered Accountants of Nigeria (ICAN) and Secretary NJC, Gambo Saleh Secretary, NJC.

It would be recalled that Justice Ayo Salami was retired in a controversial circumstance by the last administration of President Goodluck Jonathan.

About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>