Reps: PDP Regains Majority As APC Loses 5members to PDP

Hon. Aminu Tambuwal

By Olusegun Emmanuel, Abuja. PDP loses one member to APC

The Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, has regained its majority status

in the House of Representatives as five of its members in the lower chamber on Tuesday defected from the
opposition All Progressive Congress, APC, to the ruling party.

In a letter read by the Speaker of the House of Representatives, Hon. Aminu Tambuwal, the members did not cite division within party as the ground for their defection as required by law.

However, the decampee members said they decided to leave APC for PDP, to fulfill the wishes of their constituents.

Today’s realignments bring the number of PDP members to 178 as against APC’s 168.

The decampee members are: Hon(s). Lawan Shehu-Bichi(Kano), Abdulsalam Adamu(Kano), Sani Umar(Zamfara), Ibrahim Shehu-Gusau(Zamfara) all dumped the APC for the
PDP. Hon. Umar Bature(Sokoto) who had earlier left the PDP for APC made
a dramatic return to the ruling party.

However, the PDP also lost Hon. Isah Mohammed Ashiru(kaduna) to APC.

The announcement of the defections threw the House into momentary rowdy session as members freely shouted party slogans until the Speaker called for order.