Presidential Amnesty: Dokubo Probes Boroh


By Nuel Suji – The Special Adviser to the President on Niger Delta Affairs and Coordinator, Presidential Amnesty Programme, Charles Dokubo, Thursday inaugurated a special, 8-man Review Committee to probe the activities of the programme.

Mr. Dokubo, a professor, while inaugurating the committee at the Presidential Amnesty office, in Abuja  mandated the panel to ascertain current level of compliance with the original mandate of the programme; and review all contracts awarded by the Amnesty Office since 2015 with a view to determine the levels of work done, monies paid, beneficiaries and extent of work done and recommend a payment schedule for only those qualified to be paid.

A statement by Media Consultant, Wabiye Idoniboyeobu, said Mr. Dokubo “mandated the committee to dissect and carefully go through the handover notes received from his predecessor, Brigadier Gen. Paul Boroh (Rtd) and also look through all the briefs received from departmental heads.

Other terms of reference of the committee include: Look into the database of the Amnesty Office to establish its sanity; carry out a personnel audit of the staff and their suitability for the positions they currently occupy and determine the real status of all ongoing vocational; educational and post-training empowerment programmes of the office within and outside the country.

The newly appointed Special Adviser to President Muhammadu Buhari, said he would focus more on the reintegration aspect of the programme, adding that he would not accommodate new entrants into the programme, which should be winding down in due course.

“My focus is on reintegration. How do we get jobs for those who have been trained here such that they would no longer live on stipends? I wish to use the opportunity of the inauguration of the committee to underscore the compelling need to recalibrate and reboot the Amnesty Programme to meet current realities in the Niger Delta and Nigeria at large”, he said.

Members of the committee include Prof. Ayibaemi Spiff, Chief Otonye Amachree, Mr. Unyime Isong Eyo, Ms. Azizat Muhammed, Other members include the current Directors of Finance and Accounts, Procurement, Administration and the Head of Audit in the Presidential Amnesty office.

The committee has two weeks from date of inauguration to submit their report.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here