Published On: Tue, Mar 27th, 2018

Presidency: Atiku Declares Intention To Contest In 2019

Share This

By Sadiq Umar – A former Vice President, Atiku Abubakar has formally declared his intention to contest for the President at the 2019 general elections.

He made the declaration Tuesday in Port Harcourt, Rivers State, at a meeting with the stakeholders of the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP). He was there with former governor of Ogun state, Gbenga Daniel, former Justice Minister Michael Aondoakaa, and former House Leader and Senator Abdul Ningi

Former Vice President

Mr. Abubakar contested for the All Progressive Party (APC) ticket in 2014 but came third after losing to Gen. Muhammadu Buhari and Sen. Rabiu Kwankwaso who emerged first and second positions respectively.

In December 2017, he defected from APC to PDP, a party where he earlier served vice President between 1999 and 2007.

Mr. Abubakar said of APC: “Since 2015, we have not seen a 100 kilometres road constructed by the APC federal government anywhere in the country. I have never seen Nigeria so divided along religious, ethnic and regional lines, as a result of the mismanagement of the APC.”

He praised the positive contribution of Rivers State Governor Nyesom Wike, to PDP saying, he decided to declare his intention to run for the presidency in the State because he believes Mr. Wike was the live wire of the party.

In his response, Mr. Wike assured of a level-playing ground for all aspirants, pointing out that the party stands a good chance of winning in 2019.

“Only one aspirant will become a candidate. We will do everything to ensure that the party comes out with a candidate that has a track record to upstage the APC,” Mr. Wike said.

Adding that, “Every presidential aspirant must see himself as a member of the larger PDP family,” he said.

“We must do everything to ensure that PDP returns to the Presidential Villa in 2019.

About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>