Omisore Emerges PDP Governorship Candidate In Osun



Former Chairman of the Senate Committee on Appropriation, Senator Iyiola Omisore has emerged winner of the governorship primary of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) held today in Oshogbo, Osun State capital.

Senator Omisore emerged winner with a landslide margin of 1,128 vote cast ahead two other contestants namely, Sen. Olasunkanmi Akinlabi and Hon. Wole Oke who polled 45 and 5 votes respectively.

The PDP primary was organised to pick the candidate who will fly the party’s flag at the August governorship election in the state.

Three aspirants: Senator Omisore, Senator Olasunkanmi Akinlabi and Honourable Oluwole Oke, participated in the exercise while the other aspirant and first Executive Governor of the state, Senator Isiaka Adeleke, withdrew from the race on Friday, 4th April, 2014, alleging violence threat against him by Senator Omisore.

The counting was completed at about 1.45pm on Saturday, 5th April, 2014 in the exercise coordinated by the Chairman of the Electoral Panel and former Governor of Kebbi State as well as ex-Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Senator Muhammad Adamu Aliero, after which Omisore was announced winner of the primary election.

According to the result officially released by Senator Aliero, Omisore scored 1,128 votes while his opponents: Senator Olasunkanmi Akinlabi and Honourable Oluwole Oke scored 45 and 5 votes respectively.

Aleiro announced that there were 18 void votes out of a total of 1,196 ballots were cast at the primary election.