Ninth Assembly: Lawan, Gbajabiamila Emerge Senate President, Speaker

Lawan and Gbajabiamila

(News Investigators) /The preferred candidate the All Progressives Congress (APC), for Senate Presidency Ahmad Lawan has emerged winner, just as the House of Representatives, elected Femi Gbajabiamila as its new Speaker.

Mr. Lawan defeated his opponent, Mohammed Ali Ndume after polling 79 votes in an intensely contested election.

The Senate also elected Delta senator, Ovie Omo-Agege as deputy senate president after polling 68 to defeat Ike Ekweremadu who scored 38 votes..

Mr. Gbajabiamila scored 281 votes defeating his co-contesant, Umar Bago who scored 76 votes.

The Clerk to the National Assembly, Mohammed Sani-Omolori. presided over elections of the presiding officers of the two chambers conducted using the open secret ballot system in accordance with the Standing Rules.

Mr. Lawan, representing Yobe North Senatorial District was sworn in as the Senate President by Sani-Omolori before proceeding to conduct the elections in the Green Chamber.

Mr. Lawan succeeded Bukola Saraki, who headed the 8th Senate.

Similarly, Mr. Omo-Agege was endorsed by his party, the All Progressives Congress (APC).

While Mr. Ekweremadu, (PDP Enugu) surprisngly joined the race for deputy senate president following nomination by another PDP Senator-elect, Chukwuka Utazi.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here