Lawan Announces Kalu, Boroffice, Senate Leader, Deputy

A front runner for Senate presidency?
Sen. Ahmed Lawan

(News Investigators)/ The President of the Senate, Ahmed Lawan Tuesday announced the emergence of eight Principal Officers for the Senate.

Mr. Lawan in plenary announced Abdullahi Abubakar Yahaya, a senator from Kebbi State as the new Senate Leader and Ajayi Boroffice (Ondo State) as his Deputy.

Former Abia State Governor, Orji Uzor Kalu (Abia State) was announced as the new Senate Chief Whip, while Senator Shabi Yau was appointed as the Minority Whip.

Senator Enyinnaya Abaribe (Abia) was also announced as the Minority Leader and Senator Emmanuel Bwacha was announced as the new Deputy Minority Leader.

All the appointees form the Body of Principal Officers also known as Selection Committee.

The announcement of the new officers followed the letters received by the Senate President from the national chairmen of the two political parties, Adams Oshiomhole and Prince Uche Secondus respectively.

It would be recalled that the Senate went on a brief recess last month after the election of Mr. Lawan and Ovie Omo-Agege from Delta State as the President and Deputy respectively. The upper Legislative Chamber resumes work today – Tuesday.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here