Keyamo, Oke 28 Others Bag Senior Advocate Of Nigeria Ranking


By Sadiq Umar – Lagos lawyer, Festus Keyamo and 29 others have been appointed into the prestigious Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN) rank.

The former Legal Adviser of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) and Alliance for Democracy (AD) gubernatorial candidate in the last election, Olusola Oke, also bagged the rank of SAN.

The Chief Registrar of the Supreme Court, Hadizatu Mustapha, while briefing journalists in Abuja at the end of the 127th meeting of the Legal Practitioners’ Privileges Committee (LPPC) on Thursday said 30 legal practitioners have been elevated to the rank of SAN.

Giving a breakdown of the candidates for the ranking, Mrs. Mustapha, who is the Secretary of LPPC, said 156 candidates applied for the prestigious rank out of which 123 qualified for the first round of interview.

According to her, 72 candidates proceeded to the final stage and 26 were admitted from the inner bar, while four were from the academic community.

Oluwatoyin Bashorun, emerged as the only female that was elevated out the five females that applied.

“Out of the 30, four are lawyers from the academic community and we have 26 court room advocates that were so elevated, including one female.

“This is the first time that we have a high number of academic lecturers that were successful in the interview.”

Those from the academic community are: Adedeji Adekunle, the Director-General of the National Institute for Advanced and Legal Studies, Enefiok Essien of the University of Uyo, Sadiq Shikyl of the American University, Yola and Adebambo Adewopo, former Director-General, Nigerian Copyrights Commission.

Mr. Mustapha added that the swearing-in of the new SANs would be in September, on a date that would be communicated to the public.

The LPPC is a committee created and empowered by the Legal Practitioners Act (Cap L11 LFN 2004) to award the rank of SAN to deserving lawyers.

It has its secretariat at the Supreme Court of Nigeria and is headed by the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Walter Onnoghen, who is the chairman.

Full List of new SANs

  1. Chibuike Adindu Nwanne Nwokeukwu
  2. Johnnie Nnaemeka Egwuonwu
  3. Bert Chukwuneta Igwilo
  4. Sylvester Emenike Elema
  5. Ikenna Victor Egbuna
  6. Wilcox Achace Abereton
  7. Michael Abayomi Bisade Alliyu
  8. Akinlolu Oluyinka Osinbajo
  9. Francis Forum Egele
  10. Prof. Enefiok Effiong Essien
  11. Prof. Sadiq Slyvester Shikyl
  12. Prof. Adebambo Anthony Adewopo
  13. Prof. Adedeji Olusegun Adekunle
  14. Olusola Alex Oke
  15. Nasser Abdu Dangiri
  16. Oluwatoyin Ajoke Bashorun
  17. Emeka Peter Okpoko
  18. Sani Hussani Garun-Gabbas
  19. Abdul Atadoga Ibrahim
  20. John Olusegun Odubela
  21. Gboyega Sanmi Oyewole
  22. Joshua Yusuf Musa
  23. Ibrahim Sani Mohammed
  24. Festus Egwarewa Keyamo
  25. Ekemejero Ohwovoriole
  26. Oyetola Oshobi
  27. Sulaiman Usman
  28. Kehinde Olamide Ogunwumiju
  29. Chiesonu Igbojamuike Okpoko
  30. Kamaldeen Adeyemi Ajibade




Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here