Published On: Mon, Oct 21st, 2013

Kano Pillars Defends Titles, wins Nigeria Premier League

Share This

… Smile Home with 10 Million Naira

By Ignatius Okpara, Enugu

The 2013 GLOBACOM sponsored Nigeria premier league season on Sunday came to an end with defending champions, Kano pillars FC of Kano, retaining the prestigious trophy.


Kano Pillars Players celebrating one of their goals

Kano pillars, recorded a total of 63 points during the season to emerge overall winner, just as they smile home with a price money of ten million naira from the League management company of Nigeria.

The Kano club side, were closely followed by the winner of the 2013 federation cup and Aba based team, Enyimba FC, which garnered a total of 62 points.

Balyesa United FC of Yenegoa clinched the 3rd position with 61 points, followed by the Maiduguri club side, El-kanemi warriors, which recorded 60 points to occupy the 4th position.

Regrettably, two Kwara state based teams, Kwara United FC and Abubakar Bukola Saraki ABS FC of ILorin were relegated. Also relegated are Wiki Tourist of Bauchi and shooting Star FC of Ibadan.

With the result, the first four teams are expected to represent Nigeria next year in various continental soccer engagements.

About the Author

- NewsInvestigators provides all the top stories as they break, with updates and deeper insight into the reports. It focuses on local, regional and global news events in business, politics and entertainment in the true tradition of investigative journalism.