Jonathan Swears In New Ministers Today, Plans Cabinet Reshuffle



There are strong indications that President Goodluck Jonathan may swear in the 11 new ministers
recently approved by the Senate today just as he planned to re-position the team to enable him achieve strategic objectives.

Newsinvestigators learnt that the president would embark on a cabinet reshuffle as more ministers would be relieved of their portfolios while some of the existing ones would be moved to another ministries.

The new ministers are expected to be sworn-in at the Council Chamber, Presidential Villa Abuja before the commencement of the weekly Federal Executive Council meeting today.

Those that would be sworn in are Senator Musiliu Obanikoro (Lagos), Hon. Mohammed Wakil (Borno), Alhaji Abduljelili Adesiyan (Osun), Ambassador Aminu Wali (Kano), Mrs. Akon Eyakenyi (Akwa Ibom),  Lawrencia Labaran (Kaduna), Dr.
Tamuno Danagogo (Rivers),  Asabe  Ahmed (Niger), Gen. Aliu Gusau (Zamfara), Mr. Boni Haruna (Adamawa) and Dr. Khaliru Alhassan (Sokoto).

On February 20, the President had sacked four ministers from his cabinet, they include embattled Minister of Aviation, Ms. Stella Oduah; Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Mr. Godsday Orubebe; Minister of Police Affairs,
Navy-Cpt. Caleb Olubolade; and the Minister of State, Finance, Dr. Yerima Ngama.

He had in September 2013 sacked 12 ministers that included Prof. Ruqayyatu Rufai (Education); Prof. Ita Okon Ekwa (Science and Technology); Ambassador Olugbenga Ashiru (Foreign Affairs); Hadiza Mailafia (Environment); Dr.
Shamsudeen Usman (National Planning); and Ama Pepple (Housing, Lands and Urban Development).

Others were Minister of State, Defence, Chief Olushola Obada; Minister of State, Agriculture, Alhaji Bukar Tijani;  and Minister of State, Power, Zainab Kuchi.