Jakande, Akiolu Lost In APC House Of Rep. Primaries

Warned Buhari to watch out for sycophants

The primary election to pick candidates who will fly the flag of the Lagos State chapter of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in the House of Representatives election in 2015 have started producing very shocking results.

As at the last count, 13 House of Representatives members on APC platform will not return when the 8th Assembly convene in June, 2014 from Lagos State.

Six of them: Abike Dabiri-Erewa, Ikorodu Federal Constituency; Jumoke Okoya-Thomas, Lagos Island Federal Constituency 1; Monsuru Owolabi, Lagos Mainland Federal Constituency; Dauda Kako-Are, Mushin Federal Constituency 1; Ganiyu Hamzat, Mushin Federal Constituency 2; and Rafeequat Onabamiro, Badagry Federal Constituency; all withdrew from the race. Seven of them were beaten in the primary conducted today, Sunday, 7th December, 2014.

The shock of the primary was the defeat of Deji Jakande, son of the Octogenarian and former Lagos governor, Lateef Jakande,  in Mushin Federal Constituency 1.

He was defeated by immediate past Chairman of Odi-Olowo Local Council Development Area, Taofeek Adeyemi Alli. Alli scored a whopping 235 delegate votes while Jakande was left with a paltry eight votes.

Also, Fouad Akiolu, son of Oba of Lagos, Rilwanu Akiolu, was beaten in the race to pick APC ticket for Lagos Island Federal Constituency 1 after the withdrawal of the incumbent, Jumoke Okoya-Thomas from the race.

The ticket was won by current Special Adviser to Governor Babatunde Raji Fashola, SAN, on Youths, Sports and Social Development, Dolapo Badru.

In fact to pour salt on the Akiolus’ injury, Fouad came a distant fourth in the race with a mere 21 votes. Badru had 128 votes; Fatade, 67; and Ayo, 58.

In Ojo, ex-Chairman of Ojo Local Government, Yinka Murisiq Durosinmi defeated the incumbent, Oluwatoyin Suarau.
In fact, Suarau came third with 93 votes; former Auditor General for Local Governments in the state, Muhammad Mubasiru Hassan was second with 117 votes while Durosinmi, younger brother of former Deputy Governor in the state, Princess Sarah Adebisi Sosan, scored 204 votes.

In Ifako Ijaye Federal Constituency, another incumbent, Yomi Ogunnusi bite the dust. He was well beaten by former Special Adviser on Education to Governor Fashola, Elijah Olu Adewale, popularly called Dr Jah. Adewale polled 250 votes, Ogunnusi a.k.a. Baba Ilabe could only muster 82 votes.

In Apapa Federal Constituency, former Chairman of the local government, Ayodeji Joseph beat incumbent Jimoh Adewale to pick the ticket while in Oshodi-Isolo Federal Constituency 1, incumbent Moroof Akinderu Fatai (MAF) lost out.

In Surulere Federal Constituency 2, immediate past Chairman of Itire-Ikate LCDA, Hakeem Adisa Bamgbala beat incumbent Aliu Kazeem with 12 votes.

In Agege Federal Constituency, another incumbent, Samuel Adejare, had a bad day as he lost the party’s ticket to ex-Chairman of Orile Agege LCDA, Taofeek Abiodun Adaranijo. In fact, Adejare came third.

Adaranijo polled 178 votes; immediate past Chairman of Agege LG, Jubril Ayodeji Abdul Kareem polled 123 votes; while Adejare scored 86 votes.

Other incumbents were lucky: Hakeem Abiodun Muniru won in Oshodi Isolo Federal Constituency 2; Yakubu Abiodun Balogun won in Lagos Island Federal Constituency 2; House of Representatives Minority Leader, Hakeem Gbajabiamila won in Surulere Federal Constituency 1; Taiwo Adenekan won in Ajeromi Ifelodun Federal Constituency; and James Abiodun Faleke won the APC ticket for Ikeja Federal Constituency without any opposition.

In Lagos Mainland Federal Constituency, immediate past Chairman of Yaba LCDA, Abdur Raheem Olajide Jimoh popularly called JJ won while another former council Chairman, this time from Badagry, James Bamgbose picked the Badagry Federal Constituency ticket on the platform of APC.

As at the time of filing this report at 6.15 pm, the counting of votes for Alimoso Federal Constituency was still going on while voting has not even started in Kosofe Federal Constituency.