INEC Fixes Guber Elections In Kogi, Bayelsa For Nov, Dec


Acting INEC Boss

By Nuel Suji, Abuja.

The Independent National Electoral Commission has fixed the next governorship elections in Kogi and Bayelsa states to November 21 and December 5, 2015 respectively.

The two states are among the six states where the governorship election did not take place at the last general elections because their tenure of office still subsists.

The new dates announced for Kogi and Bayelsa is contained in a timetable released by INEC on Friday in Abuja, in a statement by the Chairman, Information and Voter Education Committee, Chris Eyimoga.

The statement said, “campaigns by political parties shall commence on 24th July, 2015 and end on 19th November, 2015 in Kogi and 6th September, 2015 terminating on 3rd December, 2015 in Bayelsa.”

According to the statement, for Kogi State, conduct of primary elections to nominate candidates by political parties for the November 21 election is scheduled for between August 25 and September 15; and between September 7 and 30 for Bayelsa State.

“Deadline for submission of list of candidates, CF002, and personal details, CF001, for the positions of Governor and Deputy Governor shall be November 14 and October 7 for Kogi and Bayelsa States respectively, the electoral body said.

It added that formal notices of the elections would be issued not later than August 23, for Kogi State; and September 5, for Bayelsa States, in accordance with the Electoral Act 2010 as amended.

The tenures of of Governor Idris Wada of Kogi State, and Seriake Dickson of Bayelsa expires on January 27 and February 14, 2016, respectively.

Other states where the tenure of government subsists are Ondo, Ekiti, Edo and Osun states.

The staggered tenure arose from the nullification of previous polls by the Court and conduct of fresh ones in the states at different period.