I.G Tightens Security, Redeploys 33 Police Commissioners

To appear before senate committee.
To appear before senate committee.

Ahead of the 2015 general elections, the Inspector-General of Police, Mr Suleiman Abba, on Tuesday, redeployed 33 Commissioners of Police (CPs) to Commands and Formations across the country.

In a statement signed by the Force Public Relations Officer, Mr Emmanuel Ojukwu, in Abuja, the Police said the  redeployment takes immediate effect.

With the development, Mr Danladi Mshelbwala, from the Explosive Ordnance Department moves to Kebbi Command, while Ibrahim Idris, Police Mobile Force moves to Kano State Command.

Musa Mohammed, Usman Abubakar and Olufemi Ogunbayode, from the National Institute of Policy and Strategic Studies (NIPSS), Kuru, near Jos, would take charge of Oyo, Jigawa and Zamfara state commands respectively.

Mr. Salisu Abdullahi of the Special Fraud Unit has been moved to Sokoto command, while Mohammed Usman from the Department of Planning and Logistics, takes charge of Nasarawa State command.

Mr Nyats Jatau from Rilway, Lagos, is now Commissioner of Police, Taraba, Mohammed Mohammed, the Deputy Commandant, Police College, Jos, moves to Bauchi State and Damilola Adegbuyi, from Special Protection Unit, moves to Edo.

Mr Paul Okafor, the CP, Kogi moves to Bayelsa, Vanletine Ntomchukwu from Bayelsa moves to Ogun and Adeyemi Ogunjemilusi of Interpol moves to Kogi command.

Joshak Habila from Counter Terrorism Unit is now CP, Abia.

Similarly, Shuaibu Gambo from Sokoto State to take over the Counter Terrorism Unit, Force Headquarters and Ademola Omole from Taraba is now Deputy Commandant, Police College, Jos.

Mr Waheed Salau, Airport Command to NIPSS, Kuru, Jos, Dorothy Gimba from NIPSS, Kuru, Jos to Airport Command, Foluso Adebanjo from Edo to NIPSS, Kuru, Jos and Agboola Oshodi-Glover from ICT, Abuja to move to NIPSS, Kuru, Jos.

A.K. Shodipo, Oyo would move to Special Fraud Unit, Abuja, Idris Umar from Jigawa to Intelligence, Usman Yakubu, Nasarawa to NIPSS,Kuru, Jos and Ibrahim Adamu from Abia to NIPSS, Kuru, Jos.

Lawal Shehu from Bauchi to move to Department of Finance and Administration, Abuja, Tijani Baba from Zamfara to move to Special Protection Unit, Abuja and Ademola Omole from Taraba is now Deputy CMDT, Police Staff College, Jos.

Rasheed Akintonde from Intelligence FIB FHQ to move to Interpol FHQ, Ishaku Barau from Kebbi is now Commandant, Police Detective College, Enugu and Sam Okaula from State CID, Delta State ould move to General Investigation, FCID, Abuja.

Mr Dibal Yakadi, the second in command, Anambra, to move to Police Mobile Force, Abuja, Haruna Mshelia from National Defence College, Abuja, is now Commandant, Police College, Orji-River, Enugu and Usman Abdullahi, Police Co-operative is CP, Railway Command.

Mr Mohammed Mustafa, second in command, Akwa-Ibom, moves to Explosive Ordinance Disposal Unit, Abuja.

Meanwhile, the police have announced the death of AIG Ibrahim Maishanu, who was until his demise, was in charge of Information Technology, Force Headquarters, Abuja.

A statement announcing the death on Tuesday said he died on Sunday in India while undergoing treatment.

The statement noted that late Maishanu who hailed from Yabo Local Government Area of Sokoto State, was born on Oct. 11, 1959.

It said he was enlisted into the Force as Cadet ASP on Jan. 1984.

The I-G commiserated with his family and the entire force, and prayed the Almighty Allah to grant him eternal rest and give the family the fortitude to bear the loss.