Dogara Elected Speaker House Of Representatives

Speaker, House of Representatives

Hon Yakubu Dogara

By Nuel Suji, Abuja.

The House of Representatives has elected Rep. Yakubu Dogara, as Speaker of the 8th Session of the House of Representatives.

Dogara who represents Bogoro/ Tafawa Balewa federal constituency in Bauchi state defeated Rep. Femi Gbajabiamila, who represents Surulere federal constituency, Lagos state.

Dogara scored 182 votes to defeat Gbajabiamila who polled 174 votes in a keenly contested election.

Both men were earlier nominated to stand for the election conducted in secret ballot system.

Dogara who emerged speaker against his All Progressives Congress (APC) party’s position had earlier been adopted for the position by then Speaker Aminu Tambuwal, his predecessor at the valedictory sitting of the House.

The party at a shadow election on Saturday had chosen Gbajabiamila as the party’s official candidate.

His emergence was buoyed by the alliance forged between his group and the opposition Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, which endorsed him as its candidate Tuesday morning.