Published On: Thu, Feb 22nd, 2018

Council Of State Applauds Buhari On Security, Jonathan, IBB, Shagari Absent

Share This

By Sadiq Umar – The Council of States on Thursday applauded President Muhammadu Buhari’s efforts at tackling the various security challenges in the country

The meeting held at the Council Chambers of the Presidential Villa Abuja had in attendance former Presidents namely Olusegun Obasanjo,.Yakubu Gowon and Abdulsalami Abubakar.

The meeting was the third Council of State meeting held under President Muhammadu Buhari.

Also at the meeting are Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, former Chief Justices of Nigeria and Senate President, Bukola Saraki.

Governors of Adamawa, Benue, Kebbi, Jigawa, Delta, Lagos, Nasarawa, Abia, Sokoto, Imo, Bauchi, Akwa Ibom, Kano, Plateau, Ogun, Rivers, Zamfara, Ebonyi and Kaduna States are also attending the meeting.

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, was absent when the meeting started.

However, former Presidents, Goodluck Jonathan, Ibrahim Babangida and Shehu Shagari were conspicuously absent at Thursday’s Council of State meeting.

The meeting started when President Buhari arrived the Council Chamber and went round the place to shake hands with those present.

The first meeting under Buhari was held on October 21, 2015, while the second was held in September 2016.

The National Council of State is chaired by President Buhari, with Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo as Deputy Chairman.

About the Author

Leave a comment

XHTML: You can use these html tags: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>