Buhari Inaugurates INEC Commissioners

INEC Chairman

By Sadiq Umar – President Muhammadu Buhari has inaugurated six National Electoral Commissioners, each representing the existing geo-political zones for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

INEC Chairman

Buhari inaugurated the Commissioners charging them to ensure credibility of the nation’s electoral process.

Those inaugurated Wednesday include: Dr. Ogunmola Ladipo for (South West); Mrs. May Agbamuche-Mbu (South South); Abubakar Nahuche (North West); Prof. Okechukwu Ibeano (South East); Mr. Muhammadu Haruna (North Central) and AVM Ahmad Muazu rtd. (North East).

The event was held at the Council Chamber of the Presidential Villa shortly before the weekly Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.

President Buhari at the ceremony admitted that the appointment coincided with the time Nigeria was craving for a vibrant and standard electoral process, adding that he personally aspired that people are made to exercise their civic rights freely, without molestation and intimidation.

It would be recalled that President Buhari has since come under serious attack for delay in appointing the INEC National Commissioners, ever since the positions were vacant.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here