Brasilia To Host Opening, Final Matches Of 2019 FIFA U-17 World Cup

World Cup football stadium(Source:

(News Investigators)/ The Estádio Bezerrão in the Brazilian city of Brasília will host the opening match of the FIFA Under-17 World Cup on Oct. 26 and the final match on Nov. 17.

The News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) reports that Brasilia, also known as Gama, is one of the four venues hosting the competition.

It is the first-ever edition of this competition to be staged in Brazil.

The other tournament venues will be Estádio Olímpico in Goiania and Estádio da Serrinha, as well as the Estádio Kléber Andrade in Vitória.

A statement issued by FIFA Media Office on Wednesday indicated that the four cities were picked in line with the commitment of FIFA and the local Organising Committee (LOC).

“This commitment is to bring the excitement of the FIFA U-17 World Cup to local communities that have never before hosted a FIFA event.’’

NAN reports that the competition has previously served as a springboard for an array of world stars, such as Gianluigi Buffon and Francesco Totti, both of Italy.

There were also the likes of Ronaldinho and Neymar, both of Brazil, as well as Xavi of Spain and Toni Kroos of Germany.

Meanwhile, the successors to current FIFA U-17 World Cup champions England will be decided on Nov. 17, also at the Estádio Bezerrão.

Hosts Brazil, who are three-time winners of the tournament, will be preassigned to position A1 in the draw and will therefore feature in the opening match.

“With their great passion for football and vast experience of organising world-class sporting events, I am convinced that Brazil and the Brazilian Football Association (CBF) will be fantastic hosts of this year’s FIFA U-17 World Cup.

“I believe that the four selected stadiums offer the right size and facilities for this competition, and we are very excited to bring this thrilling tournament to venues that have never hosted a FIFA event before.

“Thanks to the excellent cooperation and contribution of the CBF and LOC, I am sure that we will be able to provide all teams, fans and officials with the best possible conditions,” said FIFA Chief Tournaments & Events Officer Colin Smith.

Beside hosts Brazil, the following FIFA member-associations have qualified for the competition:

AFC: Australia, Japan, Korea Republic and Tajikistan

CAF: Angola, Cameroon, Nigeria and Senegal*

Concacaf: Canada, Haiti, Mexico and the U.S.

CONMEBOL: Argentina, Chile, Ecuador and Paraguay

OFC: New Zealand and the Solomon Islands

UEFA: France, Hungary, Italy, the Netherlands and Spain

The draw will take place at the Home of FIFA in Zurich on Thursday, with Senegal joining the list of qualifiers very late.

Their qualification was confirmed by the CAF Executive Committee after it upheld the decision taken by its disciplinary body to disqualify Guinea.

The last edition of the competition was hosted by India in 2017.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here