Ambode Declared Winner Of Lagos APC Gov Primaries With 3,735 Votes: Hamzat Second With 1,201 Votes

Lagos governor

By Nuel Suji reporting from Lagos.
Mr Akinwunmi Ambode was Friday morning, declared the winner of the primaries election conducted by the All Progressives Congress (APC) to pick its candidate for the governorship election in Lagos State in 2015.

After a rigorous exercise which lasted over 24 hours between Thursday, 4th and Friday, 5th December, 2014, Chairman of the APC Electoral Panel for the state, Dr Peter Obadan, declared Ambode winner of the primaries at around 8.30 am on Friday, 5th December, 2014.

Dr Kadri Obafemi Hamzat came second with 1,201 votes while Senate Minority Whip, Senator Ganiyu Olanrewaju Solomon was third with 272 votes. The Speaker of the Lagos State House of Assembly, Rt Hon. Adeyemi Ikuforiji polled 182; Olasupo Sasore scored 121 votes; Dr Leke Pitan scored 112 votes while Dr Tola Kasali could only mustered 68 votes.

Addressing party faithful after his declaration, Ambode promised to build on the foundation laid by the administrations of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu and Babatunde Raji Fashola, SAN.

He commended the other aspirants for putting up an impressive showing inviting them to join hands with him not only in winning the election but also in taking Lagos State to a greeater height.

“I commend other aspirants for putting up this impressive showing and I’m extending my hands of fellowship to them to join hands with me, not only in winning the election but also in moving the state forward,” he said.