Jonathan Nominates Shekarau, Oruh, Adeyeye As Ministers, Submits List To Senate For Screening


By Ibrahim Imam, Kaduna.

The Presidency has nominated former Governor of Kano state, Ibrahim Shekerau, for ministerial position in what is seen as a deft political move to checkmate incumbent opposition Governor Rabiu Kwankwaso.

Other nominees are Abdul Bulama from Yobe State, Adedayo Adeyeye, Ekiti and Stephen Oruh from Delta State. Mr. Oruh until the nomination is the National Vice Chairman, South South, of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Shekarau recently left the opposition All Progressives Congress, (APC) and defected to the ruling PDP following  the power struggle between him and Kwankwaso for the control of the APC in Kano.

APC’s guideline recognizes the incumbent governors in its fold as party leaders in their respective states, leading to  directive by its national leadership for the handing over of party structure to five governors who cross carpeted from PDP to APC.

President Goodluck Jonathan on Wednesday sent the names of the ministerial nominees to the senate  for screening and confirmation.

In a letter that was read on the floor of the Senate by Senate President David Mark, Jonathan requested the law makers to screen and confirm Shekarau (Kano), Oru (Delta), Abdu Bulama (Yobe) and Adedayo Adeyeye (Ekiti) for appointment as Ministers.

“In accordance with section 147 (2) of the constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, 1999, as amended, I have the honour to forward the under-listed ministerial nominees for consideration for Senate confirmation,” the letter read.

There had been speculation on the likelihood of Mr Shekarau being given federal appointment to serve as a check on the incumbent governor.


It would be recalled that the incumbent Mr. Kwankwaso was equally nominated as minister of defence by the Obasanjo administration to serve as an alter ego to Shekarau who was then the opposition governor.