‎Buhari Seeks Senate Confirmation Of Eko, Augie As Supreme Court Justices

Chief Justice of Nigeria

…Nominates Ndoma-Egba ‎, 18 others as NDDC Board

By Nuel Suji – President Muhammadu Buhari on Thursday sought request of the Senate to confirm Justices Ejembi Eko and Amina A. Augie as Justices of the Supreme Court.

Chief Justice of Nigeria
Chief Justice of Nigeria

The letter for the confirmation was read at the plenary session by the Senate President, Senator Bukola Saraki.

‎‎The President said that the two nominees will represent North-central and North-west‎ respectively.

The letter said, “In accordance with Section 231 subsection (1) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as amended, I have the pleasure to forward for your confirmation, the nomination of the two nominees as Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria.”

Also, President Buhari also submitted the name of a former Senate Leader, Victor Ndoma-Egba and 18 others as chairman and members of Niger Delta Development Commission (NDDC).

President Buhari in the letter sought the approval of the Senate for confirmation of the NDDC board of directors’ nominees.

‎Other board members are Donatus Enyinnah (Abia state), Frank Samuel George (Akwa Ibom state); Brambaifa Nelson (Bayelsa state); Sylvester Effefiom Nsa (Cross River state); Ogaga Ifowodo (Delta state); Uwuilekhue Saturday (Edo state) and Osita Bonaventure Izunaso (Imo state).

Olatokunbo Ayotunde Ajasin (Ondo state); Harry Iboroma Dabibi (Rivers state); Bernard Banfa (North-central zone); Yahaya Mohammed (North-east zone); Mustapha Dankadai (North-west ‎zone); Igo Weli (Niger Delta region); Mahmoud Isa-Dutse (Federal Ministry of Finance) and Abdul-Kazeem Kasumi Bayero (Federal Ministry of Environment) were also on the list.

The consideration and subsequent confirmation of the nominees will be done when the Senate resumes from its 6-week break in September, 2016.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here